PMP Certification process guide

The project Management Institute, which offers PMP certification globally, is recognized as one of the most credible institutions for certifying anyone interested in standing out for their project management skills. ForPMP certification process, you need to go through the following multi-step application process:

Ensure you meet the following criteria 

Criteria 1: Secondary school degree, not less than 5 years’ experience in project management, 7500 hours managing projects and 35 hours on project management education.


Criteria 2: Under-graduate degree, you should have 3 years’ work experience, at least 4500 hours leading projects and should have invested in 35 hours of education.

Apply for exams on the PMI website

  1. Start by creating an account on the PMI website
  2. Go to ‘myPMI’ section to find the application form. You have the option of applying online or downloading the form, filling it up and mailing it to the PMI® US office using registered mail.
  3. Submit the application. 

Pay exam fees 

Exam fees for members is $405, while non-members pay $ 555. You can enroll for membership by paying $129 yearlyand enjoy benefits such as lower fees.

Going through PMI® Audit 

If you’re informed that your application needs an audit, send your certificates to PMI within 3 months.If you pass the audit, you will take the exam. If you fail the audit, you will receive a refund.

Sit for the exam and get certified 

1.To schedule for the exam, loginto the PMI® Certification system
2.Chooseyour examination delivery method i.e. Paper-based Test (PBT) or Computer-based Test (CBT). If choosing to take PBT, note that PMI can cancel the event if a minimum of 10 people don’t choose this delivery method.
3.Choose a date when you’ll take the exam. The exam will consist of:
  • No of questions: 200
  • Allotted time: 4 hours 
  • Pass criteria: 137 correctly answered questions
  • Retakes: up to 3 times a year
4.You’ll be issued with a PMP® Certificate if you pass.

Keep earning PDUs to maintain certification status 

PMP certification expires, therefore you need to keep earning 60 PDUs under the following two categories which are defined by PMI.

  • Education. E.g take a PMI publication quiz
  • Giving it Back to Profession. E.gmanage projects for non-employers 

After earning 60 PDUs, you can apply for certificate renewal, which you’ll receive in 8 weeks.


Next Post »