UK National Parks

The UK's national parks were established in 1951 after the Government passed the National Parks and Access to the Countryside Act 1949. Its aim was to conserve and enhance the country's natural beauty, wildlife and cultural heritage.

The first three to open were the Lake District, Peak District and Snowdonia. By the end of the 1950s another seven had been established in the Brecon Beacons, Dartmoor, Exmoor, Northumberland, the North York Moors, the Yorkshire Dales and Pembrokeshire.

These were eventually followed by the Broads, the Cairngorms, Loch Lomond & the Trossachs, and more recently the New Forest and South Downs.

There are now fifteen national parks in all. Ten are situated in England, three in Wales and two in Scotland. In this infographic, we offer insights into these stunning regions with information about their geographical locations and visitor numbers. We’ve also highlighted a few facts that help make these national parks so special.

Next Post »
0 Komentar